Fruits

Pomegranate

When I was a child, a tall ornamental pomegranate grew outside my bedroom window. In the mornings, I’d look out onto the blossoms. I could hardly wait to run onto the side path and gather the fallen blooms. I loved the thick fleshy calyxes and the puffs of petal.

Planting a dwarf pomegranate in this garden brought so many happy memories of that childhood tree. It made me feel, too, as if I had a real home: I could plant one of my favorite trees!

Our pomegranate has about six fruits a year. We mostly let the cardinals eat them, so I suppose, even though it’s a fruiting tree, it serves an ornamental purpose for us.

I love the way the light shines through the leaves, and, of course, I adore the flowers.

05101707

2 thoughts on “Pomegranate

Share a thought?

