Butterflies · flowers

Milkweed

The milkweed is doing great! Looks like I’ll be buying more next time I make a trip to the nursery.

This plant grows near a spot where the soaker hose has a small hole, so it gets a steady drink each morning when I’m watering the garden. (We’ve got a diverter on the spigot, so water goes to the soaker hoses and the garden hose that I use for irrigation. Most of the soaker hose emits extremely slowly, since it’s blogged with mineral deposits from the water, but in a few places, there are holes, so the plants there get extra drinks.)

It’s been a great start to the butterfly season, so I’m hoping that if I fill the garden with milkweed, we’ll have lots of happy monarchs!

 

Share a thought?

