Butterflies

Cloudywing Skipper

Butterfly season is underway, and I’m so excited!

This year, the monarchs were here all year. The swallowtails have been around since January–in April, I saw one laying eggs on the citrus. And we had lots of Texas crescents arrive in March and stay. American snouts have been frequenting the mesquite for the past few days. We’ve had a lot of blues, too!

Of all the butterflies that visit, though, I tend to get most excited about the skippers. This cloudywing came to sun itself on a cool morning.

04301713

I get excited thinking about all the butterflies that will still come visit. I hope I find my butterfly book soon!

04301712

Share a thought?

